Men are NOT just animals that are slaves to their instincts

11Mar13
Only Yes Means Yes Campaign

Only Yes Means Yes Campaign (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

In the last election, and even since then, we were made aware of just how much rape culture still persists in the U.S. To be clear: the term “rape culture” does not refer to a culture of rapists, and a culture that thinks rape is just fine. Rather, “rape culture” refers to putting the burden of prevention on the potential victims, and blaming them when they fail to protect themselves adequately.

There’s just one thing I don’t understand. In perpetuating this culture, we’re not just blaming women for being raped, we’re also telling them to expect men to be nothing more than animals who are slaves to their base instincts.

Men: WHY aren’t more of you offended by that? The culture we’ve created here assumes that you are incapable of controlling yourselves in the presence of a scantily clad woman, a flirtatious woman, a woman who is, in some way, “asking for it.” It assumes that men are essentially animals living by their instincts, instead of beings capable of higher thought and reasoning, and yes, self-control.

The rape I’m talking about is along the lines of a husband raping his wife, a man raping his girlfriend, a man walking a drunken girl home from the club and then taking advantage of her because of the way she was acting. Even a man stalking a woman walking alone on a darkened street or through a parking garage, though at least some men who do that are ill and in need of help.

Men, I’m a WOMAN and I’m offended by this. I know you can rise above your instincts. I’m a WOMAN who’s angry not just on behalf of all the women out there by rape culture, but also on behalf of YOU, because the assumption is out there that you’re just

animals! So why don’t we hear more outrage from MEN about this?

Or is my head in the sand? Feel free to tell me my head’s in the sand and that you ARE outraged and I’m just that unobservant. But if you’re not outraged, you should be. Men CAN think reasonably, and act reasonably. You’re not animals. So if you’re outraged, good. If not, you should be.

10 Responses to “Men are NOT just animals that are slaves to their instincts”

  1. I’m gone to convey my little brother, that he should also go to see this webpage on regular basis to take updated from latest gossip.

  2. Wow, awesome blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?

    you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is fantastic, let alone
    the content!

    • I actually haven’t been blogging for very long at all; less than six months actually, but I’ve been writing for awhile. Glad I can make it look easy. Thanks for reading!

  3. Hello are using WordPress for your blog platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and
    create my own. Do you require any html coding expertise to make your own blog?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  4. I do not comment, but I browsed a few of the responses on this page
    Men are NOT just animals that are slaves to their instincts | They Need To Go.

    I do have a couple of questions for you if you don’t mind. Could it be just me or do a few of the responses come across like they are coming from brain dead people? 😛 And, if you are writing on other places, I would like to follow everything fresh you have to post. Could you post a list of all of your social networking sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  5. Generally I don’t read post on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very compelled me to take a look at and do so! Your writing style has been amazed me. Thank you, very nice article.

    • Thank you for reading! It’s always bothered me that there’s this assumption out there that men are animals. I know lots of men who aren’t.

  6. Great article! We are linking to this particularly great
    post on our website. Keep up the great writing.


  1. 1 OUTRAGE: Lawyers attempt to defend rape of 16-year-old girl | Bazaar Daily News

Leave a Reply

